Smart Light-Lab

As part of the awareness-raising process, the University of Liège (ULiège) will provide an area made from repurposed shipping containers and dedicated to the problem of light pollution: Smart Light Lab. Overview of an unusual, mobile modular space

Inspired by the structure of recycled containers designed by famous French architect, Rudy Ricciotti, the Smart Light Lab serves a dual purpose: to provide a workspace where hybridisation and co-creation workshops can be held as well as a forum for improving awareness. Ultimately, this is an area for hosting think-tanks and meetings, where knowledge and know-how can be shared, exhibitions held and conferences organised, thus promoting synergies between various players.

Once the Smart Light Lab is set up and in service, it can start to disseminate information and spread the word of the mobile technology transfer unit across the Greater Region. It will pass through the cities of Metz (France), Differdange (Luxembourg) and Trêves (Germany) before stopping in Herstal (Belgium).

Designed to reach the project’s target audiences including professionals, companies and public sector clients, the Smart Light Lab is last, but not least, a concept unique to the Greater Region, a genuine tool which operators can use in order to reach a wider audience.

Smart Light-Lab

Dans le cadre du processus de sensibilisation, l’Université de Liège (ULiège) s’engage à mettre à disposition un espace de containers maritimes transformés consacré à la problématique de la pollution lumineuse : le Smart Light Lab. Zoom sur un espace modulaire nomade hors du commun!

Inspiré des structures de containers recyclés dessinés par le célèbre architecte français Rudy Ricciotti, le Smart Light Lab a un double objectif : servir à la fois d’espace de travail – en accueillant des ateliers d’hybridation et de co-création – et de lieu de sensibilisation. Il s’agit donc d’un espace d’accueil qui permet d’expérimenter des idées, de faire des rencontres, de transmettre des connaissances, des savoir-faire, de proposer des expositions, d’organiser des conférences et de favoriser des synergies entre des publics différents.

Une fois l’aménagement et la mise en service du Smart Light Lab terminés, ce dernier entame son processus de dissémination et de pôle nomade de transfert technologique à travers la Grande Région. Il passera ainsi par les villes de Metz (FR), Differdange (LUX) et Trêves (DE) avant de s’arrêter à Herstal (BE).

Conçu pour toucher les publics cibles du projet, dont les professionnels, les entreprises et les donneurs d’ordre du secteur public, le Smart Light Lab est enfin un concept unique en Grand Région, un véritable outil dont les opérateurs pourront se saisir pour communiquer plus largement vers le plus grand nombre.